02 August 2021

ETHER NET Cyan 1995




Artist Biography by Jason MacNeil

Although based in Cleveland, this band has a distinct international flavoring in its makeup. The duo of Robert Cherry and Switzerland-native David Mooser teamed up, performing around the Cleveland area before hooking up with drummer Mark Klein. In 1994, EtherNet released Ione Skye, its debut single, which was followed by a promotional EP and the Cyan EP. A 7" vinyl collaboration with Cobra Verde saw both bands cover songs by Echo & the Bunnymen as well as the Teardrop Explodes. In 1996, EtherNet released its debut full-length album, Severance, which was noted for its David Bowie overtones. The band continued to tour and receive press in local and national alternative music magazines. After this came The Requisite Chemicals album, released on Requisite Recordings in 2000. The album was praised for its sound, resembling early-'70s groups like Big Star and Badfinger. At this time, EtherNet changed drummers, with Klein leaving and being replaced by Brian Gemmill, former drummer of the New Zealand industrial band Lung. The group had a prized North American opening slot for both Idlewild and Placebo in North America. In 2002, the group released More Strange Bruises, with keyboardist Ken Leonard added to the mix.



1 Static 4:02
2 Compound Fracture 3:44
3 Expensive 3:24
4 Ione Skye 2:05
5 Dive 2:55
6 What Was Mine 2:25
7 Your Reward 6:07

No comments: