23 August 2012

EDISON Picture Postcard 1997

 by request


by Jason Ankeny
The alternative rock quartet Edison formed in Altoona, Pennsylvania in 1992. Comprised of vocalist/guitarist Ryan Tyler, guitarist Shawn Shultz, bassist Chris McConnell and drummer T.J. Lipple, the group honed its muscular sound on the Altoona club circuit before graduating to Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and eventually New York; during a performance at CBGB's, the band came to the attention of Kinetic Records founder Steve Lau, who signed Edison to the label a short time later. After cutting a pair of singles in the fall of 1996 with producer Wharton Tiers, the band teamed with Jawbox's J. Robbins to record their 1997 full-length debut Picture Postcard.


Adam said...


Elekchok said...

I'm the bass player for that band, and I never thought that anyone cared about this record. Now I know that there's at least one person out there. And by the way - there are a couple of unreleased songs on an old nostalgia site: http://www.myspace.com/altoonaedison

Rotinaj said...

Hey Elekchok,

Any chance you could post those unreleased tracks for download somewhere? Myspace streaming quality hurts my ears ha.

Elekchok said...

If I can find the files again or get some free time - then sure.

IHateThe90s said...