30 November 2015

STRAW Shoplifting 1999

by request

Artist Biography by

British pop band Straw was formed by Bristol university mates Mattie Bennett (vocals/guitar) and Roger Power (bass); expanding to a trio with the addition of keyboardist Duck, the group -- originally dubbed Please -- quickly signed to Arista, only to be dropped by the label even before issuing their first single. Adding former Kings of Infinite Space drummer Andy Nixon and rechristening themselves Straw, the group landed at WEA and issued its debut single "Weird Superman" in the summer of 1998; three more singles -- "The Aeroplane Song," "Moving to California" and "Soundtrack of the Summer" -- followed in 1999 before Straw released its first full-length effort, Shoplifting; upon completion of the album, Power was dismissed from the lineup. 


01 Dracula Has Risen From The Grave 3:42
02 Weird Superman 4:09
03 The Aeroplane Song 4:04
04 Moving To California 6:03
05 Shoplifting 3:53
06 Kill Your Boyfriend 3:54
07 Anthem For The Low In Self - Esteem 3:26
08 United States Of Amnesia 3:59
09 Postcards From Hell 4:27
10 Soundtrack Of The Summer 4:40
11 Wake Up (Miss Venezuela) 4:00
12a We Don't Belong 5:01
12b Galveston [Hidden Track] 4:04

No comments: