30 June 2016

TILT Play Cell 1993


Artist Biography by

Play Cell
Berkeley, CA-area punk band Tilt were formed in the early '90s, featuring vocalist/songwriter Cinder Block (a rare female performer in the male-dominated punk-pop field), guitarist Jeffrey Bischoff (also Cinder's husband), bassist Pete Rypins, and drummer J. Vincent Camacho. The high-energy and socially aware group first released a successful demo that charted at local college station KALX for a month before recording their melodic self-titled EP in January 1992. Tilt's full-length debut came in 1993 on Lookout! Records with Play Cell; they jumped to Fat Wreck Chords for 1995's 'Til It Kills, which found Gabe Meline taking over bass duties. The band briefly broke up in 1996, but reconvened the following year, this time with Jimmy Cheetah (ex-Screw 32) on bass; Collect 'Em All appeared in 1998. Viewers Like You was released in 1999 with original bassist Rypins returning to Tilt's ranks, and national tours with No Use for a Name and One Man Army followed. The 22-song B-sides and rarities compilation Been Where? Did What? surfaced in November 2001. 


1 Crying Jag 2:35
2 White Homes 2:07
3 Dead Bum 2:35
4 Play Cell 2:50
5 Fool To Blame 1:45
6 Locust 2:15
7 Small Bills 1:49
8 Yellow Bellies 1:46
9 One Day 2:09
10 Come Across 2:45
11 Idiot Lips 2:31
12 Unlucky Lounge 2:08
13 Bad Seed 1:48
14 Poor Infant 2:16

No comments: