12 February 2018

DEERHOOF Dirt Pirate Creed 1996

vinyl only release


Artist Biography by

The Man, the King, the Girl
San Francisco's Deerhoof mix noise, sugary melodies, and an experimental spirit into utterly distinctive music that made them one of the most acclaimed acts of the 2000s and 2010s. The group began as the brainchild of guitarist Rob Fisk and drummer/keyboardist Greg Saunier in 1994; early releases, such as the 1995 7"s Return of the Woods M'Lady and For Those of Us on Foot, had a more traditionally harsh, no wave-inspired sound, though they also included the quirky tendencies that dominated their later efforts. Vocalist/bassist Satomi Matsuzaki joined the group in time for 1996's self-titled double 7" on Menlo Park, but other members passed through Deerhoof, including Chris Cooper of Angst Hase Pfeffer Nase. The following year they released their full-length debut, The Man, the King, the Girl, on Kill Rock Stars, and the Come See the Duck 7" arrived on Banano a year later. 


A1 Mathematics
A2 Sophie's Belly
A3 Catotoc
A4 Awakening Of The Dirt Pirates
A5 The Man Sabo-A And The Girl Polly-B / Going On Foot And The King Coming By Carriage
B1 A Mirror Tree

No comments: