19 April 2014

DARK ARTS Something Once Whispered to Cava 1999

by request
Stephanie Payne has been making music under the guise of Dark Arts since 1984. The first recording was produced and engineered by Steve Albini (best known for his bands Big Black and Shellac, as well as his production work with the Pixies and PJ Harvey). A Long Way From Brigadoon was released on Albini’s short lived Ruthless Records (2) label in 1985.

Dark Arts has been featured on many compilations, the best known being The October Country issued on Nate Starkman & Son (brainchild of Philip Drucker who has been in noted bands 17 Pygmies and Savage Republic). The import-only release Carnival Of Lost Souls, produced and engineered by Biff Sanders (of Ethyl Meatplow and Polar Bear), can be found on Nate Starkman & Son, and is distributed by EFA.

Dark Arts has shared the stage with many diverse bands including: The Cocteau Twins, Big Black, Urge Overkill, Naked Raygun, and Drowning Pool. Stephanie enjoys working with a wide variety of musicians and instruments, which enables her to create her eclectic and other-worldly sound. Dark Arts has been favorably compared to such artists as Dead Can Dance, Harold Budd, Roger Eno, Angelo Badalamenti and Peter Gabriel.

The Dark Arts release Something Once Whispered To Cava took 3 years to complete and it features the talents of Julie Fowells (Geraldine Fibbers) on violin, Joyce Rooks on cello, Raul Casillas and Biff Sanders on percussion, and the vocal talents of Cheryl Russel, Scotty Chapman, and Stephanie Payne. Stephanie wrote all the material and played all remaining instruments.

Dark Arts is currently made up of Stephanie Payne on dulcimer, piano, percussion, flute and melodica (amongst other sound-making objects), Sharon Berman on accordion, ballophone, recorder and percussion, and Juan Wijngaard on hurdy gurdy, recorder, mouth harp, and percussion. Something Once Whispered To Cava will take you on an emotional and visual journey to distant lands and mystical places.


1 Jola Dool 5:21
2 Fragments Of A Smile 4:11
3 The Myth Of Alcestis 7:06
4 Marigolds And Gossamer Spirit 3:14
5 Through Vita's Eyes 3:20
6 Blue Lion Teardrop 5:49
7 Songs Of Earth And Sky 4:53
8 Grey Eyes Is Glass 3:40
9 Velvet Sky 5:32
10 Sea Nymphs 8:03
11 L'Astrolabe 3:31
12 Like Still Waters Under An Open Sky 3:41
13 The Wishing Tree 3:43
14 Lament 5:46


IHateThe90s said...


IHateThe90s said...

You've been posting excellent stuff faster than I can listen to them! It's a luxury crisis that I'm glad to have. Keep up the great work!

IHateThe90s said...

hi, thanks for this album. Previous one can be found here: http://phoenixhairpins.blogspot.cz/2009/07/dark-arts-carnival-of-lost-souls-cd.html