10 May 2014

WHALE We Care 1995

Thanks to Jenz

Artist Biography by

Although they formed back in 1987 (originally as the Southern Whale Cult), the Swedish outfit Whale didn't hit the big time until 1995, with the MTV-hit "Hobo Humpin' Slobo Babe" (directed by Mark Pellington). Consisting of members Cia Soro (vocals), Henrik Schyffert (guitar), and Gordon Cyrus (bass), the band released several albums back home (such as The 52nd State of America, In Style!, Whatever, etc.) before signing a worldwide record deal in the mid-'90s. Their next album, We Care, failed to yield another hit like "Slobo Babe," and after opening for Blur on a North American tour, Cyrus left the band to form his own hip-hop record company. After a lengthy hiatus, new members Jorgen Wall (drums), Jon Jefferson Klingberg (second guitar), and Heikki Kiviaho (bass) joined in time to record their follow-up, 1998's All Disco Dance Must End in Broken Bones. Recorded in Chicago and London, the album was produced and engineered by two of today's top alternative producers -- Chris Potter (the Verve) and Brad Wood (Veruca Salt, Placebo). An extensive U.S. tour with Tricky followed soon after the album's release. 


1 Kickin' 3:47
2 That's Where It's At 4:15
3 Pay For Me 4:24
4 Eurodog 3:36
5 I'll Do Ya 8:26
6 Electricity 4:13
7 Hobo Humpin Slobo Babe 3:59
8 Tryzasnice 4:45
9 Happy In You 4:56
10 I Miss Me 4:11
11 Young Dumb N' Full Of Cum 5:14
12 I'm Cold 8:25
13 Born To Raise Hell 1:13


1 comment:

IHateThe90s said...