03 October 2016

LUNG Cactii 1991

by request

Artist Biography by

The aggressive New Zealand noise band Lung began their existence as the Palmerston North-based unit the Clear. Comprised of vocalist/guitarist Dave White, bassist Phil Williscroft, and drummer Brent Gammill, they attracted favorable notice with their 1990 self-released effort Live Stomach, changing their name to Lung in the wake of the record's release; in late 1991 the trio returned with the ferocious Cactii, issued like its predecessor on their own Yellow Bike label. A world tour followed, and while in Germany they recorded the 1993 EP Paralysis; other tracks from the session appeared later that year on the full-length 3 Heads on a Plate, the final Lung release to feature Williscroft, who was subsequently replaced by former Rake bassist Graeme Galyer. While touring America in 1994, the group began to splinter, hanging together long enough to record the live LP Feeding Fucking Vera, a document of a blistering club date in Muncie, IN; days later, Lung officially disbanded when White returned to New Zealand, leaving Gammill and Galyer in the U.S. White and Yellow Bike label partner Claire Pannell later resurfaced in C.U.N.T. (Claire's Un-Natural Twin). 


1 Full Moon Again 3:24
2 She's Got A Gun 3:53
3 Sarah 3:33
4 Sleep 3:19
5 Sub 2:23
6 Lurch 2:46
7 Hardwired 6:13
8 Numb 3:51
9 Eat The Poor 3:46
10 Ride 2:31

No comments: