07 July 2015

THE SORTS This Is Gateway Sounds 1996

by request

Artist Biography by

Washington, D.C. post-rock outfit the Sorts formed in the autumn of 1994, originally comprised of singer/guitarist Joshua LaRue (formerly of Rain Like the Sound of Trains), bassist Stuart Fletcher, and ex-Hoover drummer Chris Farrall. The group's debut album, Common Time, appeared in 1996, followed a year later by This Is Gateway Sounds; the Boom saxophonist Carlo Cennamo signed on for the fourth Sorts LP, 1998's Hawaiian Bronco, with pianist Vin Novara (an alumnus of the Crownhate Ruin) expanding the lineup to a five-piece for 1999's Contemporary Music.

No comments: