25 February 2016

LOUDSPEAKER Supernatural 1991

 noise rock

Artist Biography by
New York noise rockers Loudspeaker combined the bleak experimentalism of bands like the Jesus Lizard, Swans, and Unsane with the garagey blues-punk of outfits like Laughing Hyenas, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, and Royal Trux. Formed in 1990, the original Loudspeaker lineup featured two ex-members of Crucifix -- guitarist/singer Matt Borruso and drummer Chris Douglas -- and two ex-members of Boss Hog in guitarist Kurt Wolf (also of Pussy Galore) and bassist Jens Jürgensen (also of Swans). The group debuted in 1990 with a 7" single for Sympathy for the Record Industry, "Pray." Jürgensen subsequently departed, and was replaced by Charles Hanson. The "King" single followed on Lungcast in 1991, and their first full-length album, Supernatural, appeared in 1992 on the Patois/Cargo label. At this point, their avant noise leanings had yet to give way to the bluesier style -- complete with slide guitar -- of later releases. That evolution started with another lineup change, which found Borruso trading in the rest of the band for a new power-trio format, with a rhythm section of bassist Christian Bongers and drummer Martin Kob. This version of Loudspeaker recorded the band's second album, Rubberneckers vs. Tailgaters, for Sympathy for the Record Industry in 1995. Their third and final album, 1996's Re-Vertebrate (cut for Another Planet), was their clearest fusion of noise rock and scuzzy blues, featuring Borruso on organ as well as guitar. Kurt Wolf went on to play with Emma Peel.


1 Black Ink 2:58
2 Nicotine Skin 3:13
3 Stump Neck 2:56
4 Know What I Mean 3:19
5 Shutdown 5:31
6 Back To The Hole 3:29
7 6 Ft. Up 3:17
8 Choke 1:30
9 X-ed Out 3:51
10 Five Easy Pieces 5:59

No comments: