09 May 2016

THE COWSLINGERS A Fistful Of Pesetas 1996

Artist Biography by

Off the Wagon and Back in the Saddle
The Cowslingers were born when Greg Miller was accepted into Kent State University. Having performed in groups throughout his university years, mixing classic rock sounds with punk and also rockabilly. While touring around the university circuit, the Cowslingers developed a loyal following for an energetic live show and high-octane performances. In 1993, the group released its debut effort, an EP titled Bad Booze Rodeo, on Drink 'n Drive Records. In 1994, the debut album, Off the Wagon, was released to wide acclaim in rock and cowpunk circles. The Cowslingers released its second album the same year, That's Truckdriving. Constant touring throughout the Ohio area spread into dates on the East and West Coast. In 1995, Greg Miller asked his brother, Ken Miller, to fill in for the band's bass player. In 1996, A Fistful of Pesetas was the band's third album and more praise followed. Often compared to Reverend Horton Heat, Supersuckers, and Southern Culture on the Skids. In 1997, the Cowslingers released West Virginia Dog Track Boogie on Shake It Records. In 1999, the group was nominated by the Cleveland Free Times as Best Country Act and another album, Americana a Go Go, was released. The following year the same newspaper voted the Cowslingers Best Punk/Hardcore Act, demonstrating the group's adaptability. Two albums, Boot 'n' Rally and Coast to Coast, followed in 2000. In 2002, the Cowslingers released an album of rare tracks, titled Bull's Eye, on Orange Recordings. 


1 18 Wheels To Hell
2 Trucker's Last Dollar
3 Strip Bars, Liquor & Fireworks
4 Why Don't You Love Me Like You Used To Do?
5 Shotgun
6 Black Widow
7 Roll On Big Mama
8 Drink Em Up & Go
9 Big Rig Blues
10 One Piece At A Time
11 Hey Good Lookin
12 Movin & Grovin
13 I Can Tell
14 Tattooed Blue
15 Baby Don't Come Round
16 Queen Of The Truckstop
17 Slinky
18 Heyday
19 Shake & Stomp
20 Old One Eye

No comments: