04 October 2011



by Charlotte Dillon

This Canadian rock group formed around 1980, first performing under the name Second Unit, then later switching to Fifth Column. Members were all female and preferred not to use their last names when it came to the press, using only an initial instead. The reason was listed as something like female power and not using a name that was passed down to daughters from fathers. During the group's lifetime, the lineup for Fifth Column went through some changes, like most groups. Along the way, members included vocalist and guitarist Caroline Azar, drummer Joel Wasson, vocalists Kathleen Robertson and Janet Mascis, guitarists Michelle Breslin and Charlotte B., bassists Beverley Breckenridge and Anita Salmon, and drummer and guitarist G.B. Jones. The girls recorded their last album in 1994.