21 February 2012

ASS PONYS Mr. Superlove 1990

By request


by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Led by guitarist/vocalist Chuck Cleaver, Cincinnati's Ass Ponys cut a niche in the indie rock world of the early '90s with their skewed country-rock. The group managed to twist standard rock and country conventions around, giving them a goofy, off-kilter perspective. After releasing a couple of independent records, the band signed with A&M Records, releasing their major-label debut, Electric Rock Music, in 1994, followed by Known Universe in 1996. After a lengthy hiatus that saw the group severing ties with A&M, they signed a deal with alternative country label Checkered Past. The resulting Lohio was a triumphant, if slightly depressing, return to form. A compilation, Okra Years, was released in 2005. 


1 Hey Swifty
2 Ford Madox Ford
3 Eleven : Eleven
4 (We All Love) Peanut Butter
5 Laughing At The Ghosts
6 Mr. Superlove
7 Thank You For The Roses
8 Ride Ramona
9 Fingers Fall
10 Bible House


IHateThe90s said...


IHateThe90s said...