01 March 2016

ON TRIAL New Day Rising 1999

by request
 Artist Biography by

New Day Rising
Danish retro-rockers On Trial are caught in time warp of their own devising. Though they only formed in the mid-'90s, vocalist Bo Morthen Petersen, guitarists Anders Skjodt and Henrik, bassist Nikolaj Lykkenielsen, and drummer/organist Guf "Lorenzo Woodrose" Lorentzen play psychedelic music reminiscent of late-'60s acts like Love and 13th Floor Elevators. Their releases include 1995's Seventy Kilometers of Underwater Nothingness, 1997's Head Entrance, 1999's New Day Rising, and a limited-edition live album entitled Psychedelic Freakout Party from 2000. Due to certain members' (Lorentzen, Skjodt) other commitments with Baby Woodrose, On Trial took some time off before reconvening and recording 2002's Blinded by the Sun, released by Tee Pee Records, then followed it with an album of covers called simply Head, the next year. The self-explanatory Live arrived in 2004. 

No comments: