01 June 2014

HELIOS CREED Planet X 1994

by request

Review by

Helios Creed has a favorite schtick for his album covers -- deliberately cheesy science fiction images. The giant shrimp with cowboy hat, bandana, and sixshooters on the cover of the 1994 release Planet X is one of the more fun, playful ones. Inside, listeners will find more of the grinding, intentionally discordant sounds typical of his grunge/industrial fusion, with the sci-fi theme carrying through into the titles, from "Dog Star" to "Kurt Zombie" to "First Encounter." Effects include the strange double-echoing spoken overlaps on "The Ascent," which add a strong dash of surreal to the mixture. It seems thematically appropriate that this is released on the Amphetamine Reptile label.


1 Tele-Vision 5:19
2 Fire In The Head 3:18
3 Dog Star 3:42
4 Kurt Zombie 5:36
5 Waves 2:04
6 First Encounter 2:50
7 Plato's Cave 4:11
8 Won't Kill Myself 4:05
9 Next Encounter 6:24
10 The Ascent 1:28

1 comment:

IHateThe90s said...