13 June 2014

JIMMIE'S CHICKEN SHACK Pushing the Salmanilla Envelope 1997

Thanks to Stratosphere



Artist Biography by

Pushing the Salmanilla Envelope
Jimmie's Chicken Shack blends funk-metal with elements of ska and reggae but also a surprising acoustic prowess. Lead vocalist Jimmy HaHa grew up in Maryland and played with a group named Ten Times Big for several years. After the band broke up, he hit the snowboarding circuit for two years but then began several acoustic jams with friends. HaHa recruited drummer Jim Chaney (from Ten Times Big), longtime friend Che' Lemon on bass, and guitarist Dave Dowling (aka Double D) to form Jimmie's Chicken Shack. Based in Annapolis, MD, the group formed their own Fowl Records and released Give Something Back. After selling tens of thousands of records around the Baltimore area, Jimmie's Chicken Shack signed to Elton John's Rocket Records and released their major-label debut, Pushing the Salmanilla Envelope. Still involved with their own label, however, the group also released The Original Recipe, a collection of early recordings, followed in 1999 by Bring Your Own Stereo. A five-year wait preceded the release of Re.present in 2004.


1 Dropping Anchor 3:50
2 Outhouse 3:19
3 High 3:48
4 Spiderweb 4:05
5 Blood 3:43
6 This Is Not Hell 5:07
7 Milk 5:21
8 Hole 2:20
9 School Bus 2:54
10 Another Day 3:24
11 Sitting With The Dog 4:10
12 When You Die You're Dead 3:15

1 comment:

IHateThe90s said...