29 March 2019

TRADEMARK OF QUALITY Various Artists 1993

by request


1 No Artist Intro 0:06
2.1 No Artist Dialogue 2:46
2.2 Boredoms My Mum Is Car
3 Biohazard Five Blocks To The Subway 3:29
4 Wayne Coyne Intro To Waterbugs 1:45
5 The Flaming Lips Waterbugs In The Policeman's Ear 3:25
6 Uncle Tupelo With Joe Ely Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way 2:58
7 Kristin Hersh Your Ghost (Demo) 3:06
8 Suddenly, Tammy! Funky 2:45
9 The Muffs You Lied 2:13
10 Green Day 409 In My Coffeemaker 2:49
11.1 No Artist Dialogue 2:45
11.2 Gallon Drunk All Mouth, No Trousers
12 American Music Club In My Role As The Most Hated Singer In The Local Underground Music Scene 3:16
13 Bluescreen Batperson 3:24
14 Jungle Brothers Troopin' On The Down Lo 6:56
15 Justin Warfield Dip Dip Divin' (New Version) 3:40
16.1 No Artist Dialogue 5:07
16.2 Daniel Lanois Rain Weather
17 Not Drowning, Waving Ascending (Me And You) 4:14
18 Geggy Tah Who's In A Hurry 3:03
19 Adam Schmitt I Know You're All Mine 4:38
20 Kerosene (3) More Than You 3:29
21 Unrest (2) So So Sick 1:50
22 Mudhoney Please Don't Forget About Us 2:41
23 No Artist Outro 0:27
24.1 Julee Cruise Dialogue (Pinky's Bubble Egg Intro) 0:17
24.2 Julee Cruise Pinky's Bubble Egg 3:22
24.3 David Lynch Dialogue (How Pinky's Bubble Egg Came Into Being) 1:18

21 March 2019

WHAT'S UP MATADOR Various Artists 1997

by request


Favorite Tracks
1-1 Yo La Tengo Tom Courtenay 3:31
1-2 Pavement Texas Never Whispers 3:08
1-3 Teenage Fanclub Catholic Education 2:32
1-4 Superchunk For Tension 2:59
1-5 Unsane Vandal X 1:46
1-6 Bailter Space Splat 3:49
1-7 Helium (3) Pat's Trick 3:21
1-8 Cat Power Nude As The News 4:22
1-9 Bettie Serveert Tomboy 4:21
1-10 Silkworm Couldn't You Wait (Acoustic) 3:37
1-11 Spoon Don't Buy The Realistic 3:58
1-12 Liz Phair Stratford-On-Guy 2:58
1-13 Pizzicato Five Twiggy Twiggy 4:04
1-14 The Fall Hey Student 4:29
1-15 Railroad Jerk Bang The Drum 2:45
1-16 Come (2) In/Out 4:44
1-17 The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion Dang 1:53
1-18 Chain Gang Son Of Sam 3:12
1-19 The Frogs Adam & Steve 3:06
1-20 Chavez Unreal Is Here 2:33
1-21 Guided By Voices Motor Away 2:07
1-22 S.F. Seals Still? 4:03
1-23 Thinking Fellers Union Local 282 My Pal The Tortoise 2:48
1-24 Mecca Normal Water Cuts My Hands 1:59

Unreleased Tracks
2-1 Cat Power Back Of Your Head 3:43
2-2 Come (2) Strike 4:01
2-3 Railroad Jerk One Step Forward 5:09
2-4 The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion Dig My Shit! 1:39
2-5 Guided By Voices My Thoughts Are A Gas 3:06
2-6 Spoon Telamon Bridge 2:01
2-7 Pavement Killing Moon 5:16
2-8 Silkworm Hangman 4:51
2-9 Yo La Tengo Don't Say A Word (Demo Version) 3:33
2-10 Barbara Manning The Blood Of Feeling 2:59
2-11 Bettie Serveert Life Is An Imbecile 3:26
2-12 Liz Phair Stuck On An Island 2:26
2-13 The For Carnation Alfredo's Welcome 3:38
2-14 Run On Days Away 5:39
2-15 Mecca Normal Hurricane Watch 3:53
2-16 Helium (3) Lucy 6:28
2-17 Chavez Theme From "For Russ" 4:44
2-18 Tobin Sprout Small Parade 2:15
2-19 Bardo Pond The Trail 6:15
2-20 Pizzicato Five Happy Birthday 2:28

16 March 2019


by request
 Lots of heavy bass riffs on this one like what you'd hear from The Jesus Lizard and Unsane.


VELVET CRUSH Teenage Symphonies To God 1994


Artist Biography by

In the Presence of Greatness
A classic power pop band in the tradition of the Raspberries and Big Star, Velvet Crush formed in Rhode Island in 1989, although their roots actually extended west to Champaign, Illinois, where vocalist/bassist Paul Chastain and drummer Ric Menck first met and began performing together. There Menck founded his own small label, Picture Book, on which he and Chastain recorded solo material as well as singles under various group names like the Springfields, Choo Choo Train, the Paint Set, and Bag-O-Shells. Picture Book also released records by the Milwaukee-based White Sisters, led by guitarist Jeffrey Borchardt, with whom Menck struck up a friendship. When Borchardt eventually moved to Providence, Rhode Island in 1988, he encouraged Menck and Chastain to follow; they did, and Velvet Crush soon began performing their first shows. In 1991, longtime friend Matthew Sweet produced their debut, In the Presence of Greatness; a hit with the British music press, the record earned the group a deal with the influential U.K. label Creation.
Teenage Symphonies to God
For 1994's Teenage Symphonies to God (the title taken from Brian Wilson's description of the music intended for the Beach Boys' legendary SMiLe LP), Velvet Crush enlisted producer Mitch Easter, known for his work with R.E.M. and as the leader of Let's Active. The members of the group also continued working on solo projects, with Menck issuing the solo collection The Ballad of Ric Menck in 1996. The long-awaited third Velvet Crush LP, Heavy Changes, finally appeared on the band's own Action Musik imprint in 1998. Minus Borchardt, the group resurfaced in 1999 with Free Expression. Rock Concert was issued in fall 2000. In 2002, Chastain and Menck teamed up with Matthew Sweet, who produced and played multiple instruments on Velvet Crush's album Soft Sounds. Velvet Crush returned with a harder rocking sound on 2004's Stereo Blues, which featured production from Adam Schmitt. Velvet Crush's recording career went on hold from this point on, but the group continued to play occasional live shows. In 2016, Omnivore Records released Pre-Teen Symphonies, a collection of demos and live tracks from the Teenage Symphonies to God era. 


1 Hold Me Up 3:00
2 My Blank Pages 3:29
3 Why Not Your Baby 4:50
4 Time Wraps Around You 4:13
5 Atmosphere 3:53
6 #10 2:24
7 Faster Days 4:38
8 Something's Gotta Give 5:52
9 This Life Is Killing Me 2:51
10 Weird Summer 3:52
11 Star Trip 3:54
12 Keep On Lingerin' 2:53